Skip to content

Dream job

June 9, 2010

Have you ever discovered a job that someone does or the work that they are engaged in is, honestly, one of your dream occupations?
You know what I am talking about.
I recently happened upon the line CARDIGAN by Lynne Hiriak–  knitwear line that is rooted in the designer’s love of the cardigan, and had that feeling.
Designing cardigans??? Sign me up!

Below, I have included the ‘About’ section of the CARDIGAN website, and I am floored.
I feel like the expression in it is something I might have written about my favourite item of clothing.

Here’s hoping that Lynne Hiriak has a Google Alert for her name, or at least a savvy communications person who works for her does, because:

Lynne Hiriak, from one cardigan enthusiast to another, I adore how you harnessed your love for my favourite item of clothing and ran with it! It’s inspiring!

From ‘About’ on http://www.cardigannewyork.com/:
“The CARDIGAN is a subconcious essential in every woman’s wardrobe. Its utility is limitless. It’s the item you take on the plane, throw in a bag or keep on the back of the office chair. A cardigan can change an outfit in an instant, dress you up or dress you down, and most of all keep you warm. It can be worn as a sweater, a jacket, suiting, or outerwear. There’s the everyday staple, the beat up favorite and the one we wish we could replicate or buy instantaneously in every color. CARDIGANS are timeless and sentimental. We all have a bunch in our closets that have been there for years- holes and all- because we just can’t give them up. There reliable, cozy and help us hang onto our best memories. AND, we can always justify the need for another.

CARDIGAN by Lynne Hiriak is a singular knitwear concept dedicated to the eponymous item. While designing for the likes of Michael Kors, Derek Lam and other well respected global brands, one constant remained– the request for more cardigans.
Cardigan by Lynne Hiriak intended to explore and push the boundaries of the limitless item.
CARDIGAN is driven by Hiriak’s personal love of cardigans, her personal amassment hovers around 150 pieces.
“My growing personal collection of cardigans confirms that no matter how many of them I have, I can always find a justification to have more. It’s so much fun adding new ones that serve different purposes to the ones already in my closet. Believe it or not, I just added my first black cardigan to my personal collection.”
Lynne continues, “My first sentimental relationship with a cardigan began when I was in Catholic High School– I wore the same classic crewneck cardigan in navy or yellow almost every single day.”
On a side note, Inspired by the success of the CARDIGAN by Lynne Hiriak line for women, Hiriak developed a small test run of men’s sweaters for her friends, family and colleagues. The overwhelming popularity (there were none left) encourage Hiriak to launch CARDIGAN by Lynne Hiriak  for men.
Hiriak first discovered her love of sweaters while working in menswear, and is excited to have it come full circle.”

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 24, 2010 1:26 pm

    Hi, It’s Lynne Hiriak from CARDIGAN here, Thanks so much for the most excellent shout out!
    Please become a fan on Cardigan by Lynne Hiriak Facebook site and follow our behind the scenes as we launch our revamped website and ecommerce mid-september!
    Hug You Wear! please contact me and I would love to give you some more inside information to share with your readers!! Cardigans rule!!

    • August 24, 2010 6:20 pm

      Hi Lynne!

      Thanks so much for getting in touch– it is amazing to hear from you!
      I will certainly have a look at what is up on Facebook about what is new with CARDIGAN.

      Looking forward to keeping in touch, and getting that insider info (and maybe some sneak peeks!) about what is happening!

      Long live the cardigan! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Cardigan connection « Hug You Wear

Leave a Reply

